Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Luna's Pregnancy Calendar

Tom: Las Perlas-Sin Eminyan - seal tabby point
Queen: X-Amanda (Luna) - blue point
Colours: seal, blue, seal tabby, blue tabby. Maybe choc, lilac, choc tabby, lilac tabby
Wed 27 Mar 2002
bulletFirst day of mating.
bulletIt's best to separate queen and tom 48 hours after the first mating. Subsequent matings occurring over a limited period of time enhance the release of Luteinizing Hormone from the pituitary gland. This hormone is needed for the final maturation of the ovarian follicles. One single mating would probably not be sufficient, but don't make the mistake of letting the two mate 'too' long (longer than three days) - it will be very difficult then to predict the date of confinement.
bulletThe spermatozoa migrate up through the cervix.
Thu 28 Mar 2002
bulletOvulation (the release of a mature egg from an ovarian follicle). The ovulation is induced by the act or acts of sexual intercourse. It usually takes place about 24 to 36 hours after intercourse.
Thu 28 Mar 2002 -
Fri 29 Mar 2002
bulletSpermatozoa reach the eggs in the oviducts.
Fri 29 Mar 2002 -
Sat 30 Mar 2002
bulletFertilisation occurs in the oviducts which lead from the ovaries to the uterus.
Sat 30 Mar 2002 -
Mon 1 Apr 2002
bulletFertilised eggs migrate down the oviducts and into the uterine horns.
bulletThe migration continue to enable even spacing of the embryos.
bulletDuring this migration the eggs will grow into a blastocystes.
Sun 7 Apr 2002 -
Tue 9 Apr 2002
bulletThe blastocystes implant in the wall of the uterus.
Sun 7 Apr 2002 -
Sun 21 Apr 2002
bulletThe blastocystes will grow into an embryos.
bulletDuring the next two weeks the important organs will develop.
Wed 10 Apr 2002 -
Wed 17 Apr 2002
bulletQueens nipples begin to pink up and slightly enlarge.
bulletThe fur on the queens belly and around the nipples will become thinner.
Tue 16 Apr 2002 -
Tue 23 Apr 2002
bulletMorning sickness might occur due to hormonal changes or stretching and distension of the uterus. Queen may appear a bit apathetic. She may be off her feed for a while and vomit from time to time.
bulletFeeding the queen several meals spaced throughout the day might help.
bulletYour veterinarian may want to prescribe a drug to relax the uterus.
Sun 21 Apr 2002 -
Thu 25 Apr 2002
bulletAn experienced person (a breeder or a veterinarian) can tell by careful palpation whether the queen is pregnant.
bulletIt's now the best time to do this because the embryos are walnut-sized now and easy to count.
Wed 24 Apr 2002
bulletYou can now start to increase the queens food ration. Premium quality commercial cat foods often have a 'kitten' formulated food. You might want to switch to this. Don't switch to another brand though.
bulletDon't overfeed, excessive weight gain should be avoided.
bulletThe foetuses are about 25 to 30 millimetres now and are fully developed miniature cats.
Tue 30 Apr 2002
bulletThe Queens abdomen starts to get larger.
Fri 10 May 2002
bulletIt's very easy now to feel the kittens, counting them might be a bit more difficult.
Mon 13 May 2002 -
Tue 21 May 2002
bulletQueen begins to spend a lot more time in self-grooming.
bulletHer breasts become even more swollen.
bulletShe may become a bit restlessness and begin to search for a suitable place to have her kittens.
Wed 15 May 2002
bulletThe queen might lose her appetite during this period. Her abdomen can be crowded with kittens.
bulletIt is better to feed several smaller meals spaced throughout the day.
bulletYou can easily detect abdominal movement now.
Wed 15 May 2002 -
Thu 30 May 2002
bulletIf your queen has difficulties grooming herself, you might want to help her. Nipples and vulva should be gently cleaned with warm water, you might want to trim the hairs surrounding the nipples, to allow easier access for the kittens to suck. Do not remove the hair completely, some breeds are born with sharp talons which can tear the skin around the nipples.
Sat 25 May 2002 -
Tue 28 May 2002
bulletMilky fluid may be expressed from the nipples.
Sun 26 May 2002
bulletYou might want to start taking the queens rectal temperature each morning.
Wed 29 May 2002
bulletTwelve to 24 hours before she is due to deliver, the queens rectal temperature may drop from 38.5 to 37.5 degrees Celsius.
bulletClear or blood-tinged discharge from the vulva might occur.
Thu 30 May 2002
bulletExpected date of confinement. Of course this is just an average. Parturition may take place from the 59th to the 70th day. Kittens born before the 58th day will probably be too young to survive.
 
 

Many thanks for providing this script to:
El Sham's Pregnancy Calendar version 1.9
Copyright 1996-1999 Suzan van Prooijen, The Netherlands
http://www.dataweb.nl/~sham/misc7.html